top of page

019: Drunk Trading

I've opened another demo account in Global Prime at 2k equity and 1:100 leverage and named it "Freedom Startup" for obvious reasons (I've already closed "Realism 101" in Hotforex because I'm having a difficult time managing the 1:400 leverage standard setup of their demo accounts, not to mention I smell something fishy regarding their upcoming contest this June which requires one to deposit, or gamble away, $100. As what I've usually read in forums, Cyprus-based FX brokers can't be trusted).

Since it's our month end at work, I only managed to trade last Wednesday night and tested the technical style I've just developed in a 1 minute chart--unfortunately, under the influence of an antihistamine drug, thanks to McDonalds chicken for triggering a terrible itchy allergy.

Since that antihistamine drug is a downer, it did feel like I was drunk trading my way in the charts (had a hard time setting up my stop loss because I've confused my long and short positions lol!)

I think I might have fared better if I was simply enjoying a glass of cognac, calm but still focused.

I ended up losing around $45 because the incorrect stop losses I've set got all hit. The following morning, I've decided to make the most of the USD recovery by taking a short EURUSD position, which thankfully helped clear my mistake with a sweet $172 gain come Saturday morning.

******************************

Actually, my main point is to stay focused. I'm now currently taking a special combination of antihistamine medication which prevents lethargy, while having the same potency until my skin gets better. In the meantime, I'll continue testing out the 1-minute and swing trading combination as well and see how it goes for a month or 2.

I've finally made up my mind to focus on forex and study real estate appraisal on the side until the board exam on August 31. By September, I'll explore apprenticeship opportunities so I don't have to start job hunting this month and just get by in my current work despite my teammates' plan of mass resignation--I'll definitely join them if we can't take anymore the lousy management and decide to push through with the plan.

But so far, we've noticed that there's a slight improvement lately with the way we're being treated thanks to our senior VP for helping drive the point accross to the stubborn management handling us. Seriously, they need us more than we need them, I just feel guilty about the senior VP doing his best to make the workplace a happy place, not to mention the account manager from Sydney doing his best to train us. If not for them, I've already handed a resignation letter, and even if I'm not job hunting now, I'm willing to walk away when things get shitty again. That's my cue to start trading live sooner in forex, and make better use of my time.

******************************

Forex trading is a business by itself, so I realized I don't have to spread myself so thin by thinking of The Next Business Idea, especially when this traveller managed to make a living out of trading as well without a backup business in mind.

It's hard to simply do what I want and let the rewards follow suit when my 'logical' brain goes chicken little, stops me from my 'crazy idea' of trading for a living, and tells me to look for a new job and continue climbing the career ladder I left instead. So everytime 'logical' brain screams, I remind myself of this article which a colleague posted in FB. I'm not into following dreams though (as Harvey in Suits says, "I don't have dreams, I have goals"), so I'm keeping Nolan's advice about chasing our realities. If the 'dream' isn't part of the current reality, then jump into the reality that has it (Steinsgate, anyone?) or create that reality.

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page