top of page

026: Mental Burnout & Resilience-- No More Trading Beyond 10:30 AM EST

Earned 100 pips and wiped these gains out all in one day. Like learning from a webinar how to trade short everytime a Hummingbird appears in bollinger bands, it's also very eye opening for me to realize the signs of burnout and how everything goes downhill because of it.

Today, I should've taken it easy and stopped trading at 10:30 AM EST (lesson for me: never, never trade near and during the lunch time in NY session, or prepared to get ambushed).

Let's rewind time a bit-- looking back, the reason why I've overtraded was trying to compensate for not being able to trade yesterday and earlier (I usually start at 2:00AM EST, but today, started at 7:30 AM EST because I've slept some more). Had a bad migraine attack yesterday which I think was caused by lack of sleep (went home late on Sunday night--actually early morning of Monday already, heh--after watching the last show of The Martian for the day, and had few hours sleep last Saturday as well from designing a gown). I think the bad migraine was also caused by constant panic after watching a video about the 2008 collapse and learning about high-frequency trading style being used by big institutions using news algorithm --if they can trade at the speed of light with the help of keywords and news, I'm doomed at my day trading attempts.

I honestly do feel troubled about that, and feel like I should stick to my old strategy of using fundamentals and doing swing trading instead. But, nah. I just have to relax first, deal with my burnout and go back experimenting with day trading using 15 min chart this time instead of 1 min (less stress), and day trading for only 2 hours-- 8:30 - 10:30 AM EST.

I'm currently addicted to this band, Phoria. Also chilling out listening to Olafur Arnalds and Of Monsters and Men. I just love them!

Got delighted to discover that there's an episode in Traderspodcast about burnout, as well as this article in Babypips on how to deal with it.

In case I get burnout in the future which isn't coming from trading (but will affect my performance in trading nevertheless), I've bookmarked this self-help page as well.

Some interesting stuff which are more hardcore than above:

I wanna watch The Martian again also and observe how Matt Damon survived against all odds.

"In your face, Neil Armstrong."

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page